Anarchy Found by JA Huss

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 12.03.01 PM

☆••*´¨`*•.☆•• 4 stars ☆••*´¨`*•.☆••

Synopsis:

Everyone needs a hero.

That’s what Detective Molly Masters tells me. “What we need,” she says, “what the whole world needs,” she pleads, “is a champion.”

The only thing I want to talk about with Molly Masters is how I’d like to make her scream my name when I push her up against a wall, slide my hand up her thigh, and live out my wildest fantasies.

“Someone who will fight against injustice,” she says.

I’ll fight against anything you want, honey. Just come a little closer.

“Someone who will stand tall in the face of adversity,” she says.

I’ll do it standing, sitting, or lying down. See how easy I am?

“Someone who believes in the value of a good deed,” she says.

I believe in the value of me, sweetheart. Because I’m Lincoln Wade. Jaded genius, obscenely wealthy, capable of violence, and looking for revenge.

Molly Masters might have delusions of grandeur. She might see me as some superman capable of cleaning up the scum, filth, and corruption in Cathedral City.

But I’m not the hero she’s looking for.

I’m the dark alley where all her good intentions hide.

So be careful what you wish for, Molly Masters.

Because you’re about to get it.

Review:

I have devoured every J.A. Huss book I’ve read, so I jumped at the chance of reading an advanced copy of her latest book, Anarchy Found, even though I usually don’t choose to read Science Fiction or Urban Fantasy (usually being the operative word, since I have made a few exceptions in the past). I would not classify Huss’ latest series as a straightforward science fiction, urban fantasy, or any other genre. Anarchy Found is a blend of suspense, erotic romance, science fiction and urban fantasy. Huss’ masterful blending of elements is what will make her latest series appealing to a wide variety of genre-lovers.

Anarchy Found is set in Cathedral City, where corrupt politicians do nothing about the rampant crime.  The inhabitants of Cathedral city need someone to champion change.

Molly Masters is a detective with Cathedral City police. She has a very colorful past. She has an even more interesting distant past. She is petite and beautiful, but she is also deadly. She’s a force unto herself. Molly is portrayed as a bit broken and vulnerable while being a badass, brave detective. I loved the moniker Lincoln gives her on their first meeting: Gun Girl. It fit her perfectly!

“I don’t need that gun, asshole. And if you think I do, then you’re gonna be sorry when I beat your ass with my bare hands. The gun isn’t the weapon….I am.”

Lincoln Wade is a reckless motorcycle rider who lives the life of a recluse on a remote mountain road. He is mysterious, angry, dark and focused on a mission. He is the perfect balance of alpha-male and sweet romancer. His black leathers and careless riding earn him the nickname of Bike Boy during his first chance encounter with Molly Masters. He is definitely a bad boy to add to your list of book boyfriends.

“You didn’t get the message? I’m a danger to society, Masters.”

Case Reider and Thomas Brooks are Lincoln’s friends and partners. They are critical to Lincoln’s character development as well as to the progression of the Anarchy Found story. They will each have their own book within J.A. Huss’ Super Alpha series. There are several other secondary characters who are deliciously evil and twisted, but it will be best to not spoil the read by adding any details.

Anarchy Found is told in the present with flashbacks to the characters’ ominous pasts. It is told from the dual points of view of the main characters, Molly and Lincoln. Anarchy Found is a fast paced, action packed, good vs. evil story. Molly represents good in society and the victims. Lincoln represents the dark side of society–both the wrong doers and the apathetic. Their passionate connection is electrifyingly hot (really, really hot) and beyond their control.

“Sweet and morbid go together like Alpha and Omega.”

Typical of all Huss novels, the characters are fully developed and complex, the plot is fast paced, sexy and twisted, and the conflict and tension continuously build to an explosive culmination. I have always been pleasantly surprised by JA Huss’ twists and turns, and while Anarchy Found was just as wildly creative as her other books, a few of my plot guesses were pretty close to correct (a first for me).

“He was my beginning and I was his end.”

Ambro Jordi’s original art work graces the cover. The stunning artwork is also peppered throughout the Anarchy Found. It gives the book an edgy look and a bit of a graphic novel feel (at the end of each chapter there is an artist rendering of one scene from that chapter).

Molly and Lincoln story is fully told in Anarchy Found, however, there are several plot points within Anarchy Found that I believe will become the conflicts in at least one of the future installments of this series. While there is no cliff hanger, Anarchy Found will still leave you desperate for the next Super Alpha!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

