Review: Rock by J.A. Huss

Screen Shot 2016-03-06 at 7.23.31 AM

••☆••*´¨`*•.☆••5 stars☆••*´¨`*•.☆

What it’s about:

My American Dream just shattered and they think I did it on purpose. They have sentenced me to hell by sending me back to the last place I want to be. They have people watching me twenty-four-seven. They want the truth about how my band mates died, and they’re going to get it, no matter what.

No matter how hard I fight. No matter how many times I deny it. No matter what it takes, the truth is going to catch up with me.

I am Rowan Kyle Saber. I am RK. I am Rock. Ex-lead-singer for Son of a Jack. Ex-addict, ex-friend, ex-boyfriend, ex-brother… and presently in denial.

Welcome to Grand Lake, Colorado, where all my nightmares started. Welcome to the past. Welcome to the present. Welcome to RK’s fucked up life.

The only thing holding me together is her. But even that might be a lie.

.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)
(¸.•`

Review:

Rock by J.A. Huss is a romantic suspense that is more suspense than romance, and it has a psychological thriller element as well. It’s like a fun house hall of mirrors—you’re never sure what is real and what to believe!

Huss has done it again! I spent the entire book “figuring everything out” only to turn the bend in the story and find myself on another road as twisty as the road from Durango to Telluride. I can count on Huss to always throw in some wicked twist, but Rock is so wild that at one point, I was sure Huss was going to end with something crazy like…oh never mind, I don’t want to spoil your fun.

Rock will have you doubting every character and questioning reality. It was like Shutter Island in that you vacillate between thinking something is real or it’s all in the character’s head. Huss’ ability to keep the top spinning amazes me. Whether her story is a thriller, suspense or a romance, Huss’ writing is gripping. This book is an edge-of-the-seat, page-turner that I quickly devoured.

Rock is laden with fabulous multi-faceted characters. Rock/R.K./Rowan Kyle Saber is the star of the show on stage and in “real life”. He’s a classically trained musician turned rock star. His looks and talent attract fans and friends like a planet with a potent gravitational pull. He is the perfect narrator for this story; R.K.’s memories and ghosts taint everything the reader is told. His brother TJ and the beautiful twins, Melissa and Melanie–who grew up next door—have significant roles in the story. Practically the entire town of Grand Lake, Colorado has a part in this tale. Each character had me guessing. Did s/he or didn’t s/he? Does s/he have an ulterior motive? Is s/he even real?

I was expecting suspense and a rock star hottie, but J. A. Huss’ gave me so much more. Rock is a double helix twisted and contorted around itself that will have you in knots while R.K. takes the long way around to finding the path to love and happiness!

Goodreads | Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU

3 thoughts on “Review: Rock by J.A. Huss

Add yours

  1. Just finished Rock & OMG that was a fantastic read. JA Huss books always leave me thinking that really just happened.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

