Review: The Hinterland Veil by Sarah M. Cradit

Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 4.39.02 PM

☆➹⁀☆☆ 4.5 stars ☆➹⁀☆☆


What it’s about:

The Deschanels are spread across Europe, each in search of what matters most.

Finn finds himself closer to locating Ana every day, but he must exercise patience, and follow his Quinlan training, to prevent losing her forever.

Aleksandr begins to see the world through more mature eyes, as he discovers what it means to love someone other than his parents. 

Nicolas knows he is losing Mercy to her own delusions, and he sets off to Scotland with her, desperate for a miracle.

At the center of everything sits Anasofiya and Cyler, each fighting their own internal battles, each racing against the clock toward very different outcomes.

Goodreads | Amazon US | B&N

 •´¸.•*´¨)✯ ¸.•*¨)
✮ (¸.•´✶ (¸.


The Hinterland Veil by Sarah Cradit is the 17th installment in her House of Crimson and Clover series. As with her prior books, this latest installment does not disappoint–4.5 stars from me.

Cradit has created a detailed fantasy world that coexists with the world as we mortals know it. Her characters are detailed, developed and continually growing in their role in the The House of Crimson series and Clover. Cradit’s series installments alternate between lagniappes, where she creates the background for existing characters or introduces new characters, and novels where the story progresses. The House of Crimson and Clover grows more detailed, broad, and complex with each installment.

Hinterland continues the story of the Deschanels, Sullivans and the Empyreans and the threat of war and destruction. Agripin, Cyler, and Anasophia continue their power struggle. Finn continues to search for his soulmate, Ana. Their relationship/story has been my absolute favorite of the entire series. From their first meeting in The Storm and The Darkness, you could feel they were destined to be together. Their son, Aleksandr, struggles with discovering the extent of his power as well as his destiny as part of the prophecy. Nicolas and Mercy are on their own journey, and it will eventually bring them back to the epic battle between these two worlds. Then there is the sibling rivalry between Agripin and Oriana…actually, the family politics abound on both fronts!

The worlds in The House of Crimson and Clover are filled with possibilities. There is magic, time travel, other realms and paranormal beings. The ancient, powerful beings and humans alike struggle with family, power, and love. The Hinterland Veil ends not with cliff hangers but many loose threads that will eventually be woven into subsequent installments of Cradit’s epic saga.

While a few of the lagniappes can be read as standalone novellas for readers who just want a taste of Cradit’s creative writing style, to follow and enjoy The House of Crimson and Clover series, the books must be read in order. You cannot skip around or pick up the series in the middle. This series is so broad and complex that even though I have read every book in this series, I still need to refer to the family trees, time lines and definitions in the books’ appendices.

•´¸.•*´¨)✯ ¸.•*¨)
✮ (¸.•´✶ (¸. 

Reading order:
The Menagerie
A Band of Heather
Pandora’s Box
St. Charles at Dusk
Prequels (The Storm and the Darkness and Shattered)
Volume I: The Illusions of Eventide
Volume II: Bound
Fire & Ice
Volume III: Midnight Dynasty
Volume IV: Asunder
Dark Blessing
Volume V: Empire of Shadows
Volume VI: Myths of Midwinter
Volume VII: The Hinterland Veil

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: