Review: Trust by Jana Aston

 

trust

☆☆➹⁀☆ 5 stars☆➹⁀☆☆

 

What it’s about:

“Knock knock!”

“Um… Who’s there?”

Yeah. That was me, on my last date. Before you feel sorry for me

you should know that I was the one telling the jokes. Jokes as in

plural, because I didn’t stop with just one. Of course not.

Hi, I’m Chloe Scott. The most awkward single girl in the city.

But I’m going to get it together. I am.

I’m going to learn how to date like a grown up.

I’m going to have an orgasm not given to myself.

I’m going to fall in love and live happily ever after.

Right after I get out of this interrogation room.

trust-inkslinger-_7

Get Your Copy Today:

Goodreads | Amazon | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon CA | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes

 

💖💖💖💖💖

5 star Review by Jules:

Trust is the fourth book in Jana Aston’s Wrong Series of standalone novels. There is no need to start at the beginning and read the books in order, but I guarantee you will want to read all four books! Ms. Aston is a rising star in indie publishing; her romantic comedies are delectable and her characters are genuine and relatable. She has a natural ability to blend humor, romance and realistic, serious issues to produce entertaining, easy-to-read books.

Trust is the story of Boyd and Chloe. Fans of the series will recall meeting Boyd in Wrong (book 1). He is Sophie’s half-brother. He is a handsome, buff, FBI agent. While Sophie thinks he is a bit of a player, Boyd might be ready to move on to a more serious relationship. Chloe, Everly’s lifelong friend and roommate (from book 2, Right), recently graduated from college and landed her dream job as a second grade teacher. She is hilarious; she and her knock, knock jokes are a big hit with the “under 10 crowd”. Chloe is a cookie. She is sweet and tempting, and she is fragile and crumbly. This girl’s social anxieties will make everyone feel a little bit more normal. I loved her inner dialogue where she questions her every move or the possible reason for a date’s comment/action. I found it so amusing because it reminded me of anxiety surrounding dating, being the only single friend, and the difficulty of wanting to make new friends but being too unsure of oneself to get that started. It’s like Jana Aston was in my twenty-something, worried-about-everything head.

Boyd and Chloe meet under unusual circumstances. While incredibly nervous, Chloe can’t help but notice the spectacularly hunky FBI agent who has come to take her statement. Unbeknownst to her, that agent is just as taken with her. I absolutely loved that Boyd and Chloe don’t instantly fall in love or jump into bed together. They’re both taken with the other, but Chloe is too insecure to believe that Boyd would be interested in her let alone make a move herself. While some readers might like the sizzling romance to kick off at the start, it would have been unbelievable for a character like Chloe to boldly jump into an intimate relationship on page two.

Boyd’s field agent training makes him a keen-enough observer to recognize that Chloe is as skittish as a rescue animal who must be approached carefully. His patience and nurturing is above and beyond, so naturally he successfully lures Chloe in. Boyd’s seeming perfection is just the right balance to Chloe’s perceived awkwardness and imperfection.

“You can’t break up with me. We’re not dating, “

“Then what are we doing?”

“We’re just Chloe-and-Boyding.”

 

I enjoyed every outing and encounter between these two characters; they brought out the best in one another. Whether they’re combing flea markets or attending formal weddings, Chloe and Boyd are delightful together. As much as I was amused by Chloe’s awkwardness, I was in love with Boyd’s tenderness. Best of all, Ms. Aston didn’t tritely wrap up this story with a getting-a-boyfriend-fixes-everything ending. She gives her readers humor, romance, friendship, a dash of reality, and a hopeful, promising ending.

I enjoyed Trust and the entire Wrong Series so much, that I’m inspired to beg the author for a future novella where all the characters in series are revisited a few years down the road (in the characters’ lives, not the author’s). While I doubt my review does it justice, Trust is another must read from Jana Aston.

trust-inkslinger-_8

💖💖💖💖💖

5 star Review by Jeannie:

Trust is Jana Aston’s latest full length offering – and my personal favorite. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Chloe and Boyd.  It follows the unlikely, on the down low, pairing of Everly’s studious, loyal, best friend Chloe and, and Sophie’s hot, FBI agent, half- brother Boyd. It is totally out of my dark, dramatic, angsty wheelhouse. But sometimes you need an antidote for all that dark.  True story – when I picked up “Trust” I was coming off of a string of dark, heartbreaking reads. Forget about book hangover, we’re talking book poisoning.  “Trust” got me my reading mojo back. It’s a bright, funny, slow burning courtship with a heaping dose of Ms. Aston’s signature self- deprecating humor.  I felt like I was in a Red Bull advert – this story gave me wings – and a perma grin for days.

Chloe is a school teacher whose dating life is one disappointment after another, thanks, in large part, to the crushing social anxiety she suffers from. She relates to her second graders far better than she does to people her own age. As her friends start forming families of their own  she’s so desperate to turn things around she resorts to “Dating for Dummies”. On one of these disastrous dates she meets Boyd – in an interrogation room – after her ticket counterfeiter date abandons her holding the bag on the 50 yard line of the Eagles game. He is hot AF – spank bank material for sure- but totally out of her league.  Her embarrassment, and attraction, come roaring back ten-fold a few days later when she sees him again at the hospital. He’s there to meet his new niece, Sophie’s baby girl, Christine. Chloe puts it all together and suddenly realizes he’s the Boyd her squad has been gently trying to fix her up with – a fact that sends he anxiety into overdrive.

Boyd is perfect. A sexy as Hell, bad ass, wisecracking agent  connected to the cyber crimes unit – he is almost the cliché chick lit hero. Sexy, sometimes sarcastic, arrogant, alpha.   But what made him perfect in my eyes was his kindness. At the end of the day, he’s a Good Man. Something we don’t see enough of in this genre. He sees something special in Chloe and it doesn’t take him long to figure her issues out. But rather than “one and done”,  he loves her enough to gently, patiently carve a place for himself in her life. The way their story unfolds is sweet and sexy and perfect for them. The slow build of emotion really sold this story for me. In a market full of angsty lust and insta-love, I welcome this slow, sexy, sweet smouldering story.

“We’re not dating. We’re Chloe and Boyding.” sighhhhhh

 God, I just love this book. Every girl needs their Boyd.

💖💖💖💖💖

Other books in the series:

 

WRONG : Amazon | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon CA | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes | Paperback

Review: Wrong by Jana Aston

💖

RIGHT : Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | iTunes | B&N | Kobo | Paperback

Review: Right by Jana Aston

💖

Fling: Amazon | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon CA | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes

Review: Fling by Jana Aston

💖

trust-inkslinger-_6

Exclusive Excerpt:

I need to remember to be careful with this girl. She’s so… unsure of herself. She seems self-reliant, yet there’s this undercurrent of doubt that I don’t yet understand.

She walks across the studio and pulls a denim jacket from a small closet and shrugs into it, then picks up her bag and slings it over her shoulder. “Are you ready?”

I nod and follow her out, watching as she locks the door then tugs on it to make sure it’s locked. We take the elevator down in silence then hit the sidewalk outside before she asks if we’re walking or driving.

“Driving,” I tell her, nodding to the parking spot I got in front of her building. I unlock the car and open the passenger door for her before walking around and getting behind the wheel.

“This is nice,” she says, glancing around the interior of my Range Rover. “This is more James Bond than FBI though,” she says, with a little wrinkle of her nose, her forehead creasing in concern.

“Are you disappointed?”

She shrugs. “It is a nice car,” she says as she buckles herself in and crosses her legs, resting her hands on her knees. “But I don’t think it’s government-issued.”

I laugh. “It’s not. Does that disappoint you?” I ask, starting the car and merging into traffic.

“I guess it’s okay.” Another shrug.

I take a right onto the Schuylkill and ask if she’s learned any new knock-knock jokes since I last saw her.

She turns her head and gives me a look. “Funny.”

“I’m genuinely curious,” I say. “You were killing it the other night.”

“No. But speaking of killing, did you know that at any given time, there are between twenty and fifty serial killers in the United States? Did you know that?” She turns in her seat to look at me, her eyes wide with interest.

“That’s quite the transition, from knock-knock jokes to serial killers,” I comment while turning on the ramp to the I-676.

“Oh, yeah. Sorry.” She shakes her head. “I just thought it would be fewer.”

“Uh-huh.”

“Like ten. I thought it would be ten. Maybe fifteen.”

“One would think.” I nod. Not really. Who thinks about this shit?

 

💖

About the author:  Jana Aston is the New York Times bestselling author of WRONG. She quit her super boring day job to whip up more books and is hoping that was not a stupid idea. In her defense, it was a really boring job.

Stalk Jana: Facebook | Twitter | Amazon | Goodreads | Website | Newsletter

 

 

Giveaway:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

trust-inkslinger-_3

 

 

One thought on “Review: Trust by Jana Aston

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

