Review: Triumph by Cecilia London

 

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-6-49-58-pm

☆☆➹⁀☆ 5 stars☆➹⁀☆☆

 

What it’s about:

“All of your ideals, your hopes and dreams…they cease to matter if you abandon them in your darkest hour. We have to see this through to the end.”

Jack McIntyre and Caroline Gerard have never shied away from a challenge. As dual commanders of the American rebel forces, they now face the greatest adversity of their lives. Every decision has permanent consequences. Relationships are tested and restored. Hard truths come to light. When the reality of their situation finally hits them, there is one thing they know for certain. No sacrifice is too great for love.

Goodreads | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | Amazon

 bellator-saga-series-banner

Guest review by Jeannie:

Holding out for a hero(ine)

Triumph is the final installment of “The Bellator Saga”, an epic political romance set in a dystopian America where the government has taken a fascist turn, and it is up to patriots like Jack McIntyre and Carolyn Gerard to fight for the things that America holds dear. Miss London has taken us on the hero’s journey with Carolyn Gerard, an every woman serving in Congress when the winds of change begin to blow. A widow with two children, she fell in love with Republican playboy Jack McIntyre.
A sexy, bipartisan couple, their romance is the thing of legends. But every fairytale has an evil wizard and this time it takes the form of Lorenzo Santos, a fascist who has weaseled his way into highest office in the land. America has turned into a dystopian fascist nightmare and Carolyn and Jack become caught up in a quest for justice. A quest to save America.

When Triumph opens Carolyn and Jack have made the decision to take the bold step of exposing themselves and Santos’ war crimes to the world. But the road is never ever easy for our sexy, mature loves. The only shelter Jack and Caroline need from any storm is each other. That will never change Miss London gives us a beautiful romantic interlude, a sexy second honeymoon if you will before one last round through the wringer, and a final stand for the America of inclusion and freedom. We finally get our hard earned our happily ever after but it comes with unique patriotic, emotional twists. It is all the things we prayed for and more then we dared to hope for.

This is one of the best stories I’ve read in ages, bar none. Everyone needs to read this story. While it’s frightening in the way fiction foretells fact, it’s ultimately about the unconquerable nature of love and hope. The story was engrossing and thought provoking. The way that Miss London gathered up all of this “important stuff” and wove into this epic romance is nothing short of phenomenal. Cecilia London’s book should come with come with a warning. Do not read in airports or on planes. Your emotional turmoil may draw the attention of the air marshals. I speak from experience. I read Triumph on the eve of the inauguration waiting for a flight and found myself sobbing in public. Her words are that powerful. Her characters are that moving.

50 spangled stars.

 

Enter Author Giveaway Here

 

release-day-2

Interview with the Author:

Describe Cecilia London in 25 words or less.

Cecilia London is the kindest, bravest, warmest, most wonderful human being I’ve ever known in my life.

Kidding!

Or am I?

Cecilia is a pen name, but I’m authentically me online and in person. What you see is what you get. And I make incredible cookies.

What or who inspires your writing?

Well, The Bellator Saga was inspired by bad BBQ so…food poisoning? Also, world events, sexy-times and friendships for all. Also candy. Candy inspires much of my writing.

You’re in the homestretch now. Do you feel like you’ve given Jack and Caroline the ending they deserved? Or haven’t you finished with them yet?

I think I have…but I left it open, just a little. There’s no way I can let go of them completely. I want to go back to that universe again, whether with spinoffs or little update novellas (I know that certain fans want to see a book from Jack’s POV!), but I also want to branch off. I thought I’d go straight contemporary next but given current events…another dystopian seems apt.

The political landscape has changed greatly in the time since “Dissident” first came out. How did it affect the development of the story and its characters?

Almost all the shade thrown in Triumph is completely intentional and directed at one head of state in particular. I wrote a lot of it before Election 2016, which I guess makes me a cynical visionary. I viewed this saga as a cautionary tale, not as metafiction. 

What’s next for Cecilia London? Life wise? Writing wise?

I hope to go back to practicing law or engaging in political and policy advocacy. Writing has been hard lately, and I don’t expect it to get any easier. I’ve been taking one day at a time, but writing these books, seeing the impact they’ve had on people, remembering my own activism in college and law school…it’s made me realize I need to rediscover my twenty-year old self. I am a very fortunate soul. I recognize my privilege. I intend to use it to fight for this nation in any way I can.

If you could invite three people, living or dead, for dinner and conversation who would it be, what would you serve, and how would the conversation go?

First off, I’d serve Lou Malnati’s pizza because I miss home (Illinois) terribly and Chicago style deep dish is the best thing ever.

The three people, in no particular order:My maternal grandmother, whom I never had the privilege to meet. I’ve got some badass photos of her from the 1920s that have created all sorts of plot bunnies in my head. So we’d definitely chat about that because I adore history.

Carrie Fisher. I took her death really hard…she seemed so relatable, so real. I love people who don’t bullshit. And her doggie was adorable.

Eleanor Roosevelt.

What are the top three things on your bucket list?

Visit every ballpark in MLB. I’ve got a long way to go, so it’s ambitious.

Take the family to Disney World and The Magical Wizarding World of Harry Potter. 

Read all the books in my library. That may take even longer than the traveling!

Josh Lyman or Sam Seaborn and why?

Oh God, this is tough. I loved Rob Lowe in Parks and Rec too, and always found Josh a little whiny. But I adored that scene between the two of them when they found the “real deal” in Jed Bartlet. One of my favorite scenes from any show, ever.

Ah, f@#k it. I’ll take CJ Cregg. I do what I want. (“You made fun of Notre Dame, didn’t you?” Love that scene too.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

