Review: Turning Back by J.A. Huss

450ebook_turning_back

☆☆➹⁀☆ 5 stars☆➹⁀☆☆

 

 

What it’s about:

I lived in the dark for three years. My whole world revolved around the whims and happiness of three men. It was just a trip into the forbidden. A way out of a bad situation and forward into nothingness.

Quin, with his easy smile and charming good looks. He was always there for me… Until he wasn’t.

Smith, and his dispassionate attention. He was never there for me and he never regretted it.

Bric, the one who listened, but only to himself. Self-absorbed, self-obsessed, and self-serving. He was never the one I wanted.

And now he might be the only one I have left.

It was good while it lasted, I guess. But it could’ve been so much more. It could’ve been so much better.

And that’s why I’m turning back.

 

Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Amazon UK | Amazon AU |  Amazon CA

Screen Shot 2017-04-07 at 9.20.59 PM

My Thoughts:

Turning Back is the second book in J.A. Huss’ Turning Series. Taking Turns (book 1) is dark and erotic. While Turning Back has plenty of smoldering scenes, it doesn’t have the same dark, sinful vibe. Turning Back’s intrigue, complicated manipulations, and unique love story kept me riveted.

This is Rochelle’s story. Her abrupt, unannounced departure leaves Quin, Smith, and Bric stunned. Her departure is also the start of the series. The rules of their “game” state there’s no coming back, but Rochelle is a rule breaker. Her reappearance is as mysteriously abrupt as her departure. How does she fit in now that Smith is out and Quin and Bric are not speaking? Even more fascinating is how her latest secret will impact the group.

The continued development of the characters is fantastic. At first introduction, the characters are rather shallow players, each one trying to hide from something. Some seem more downtrodden than others, and some seem more superficial. As the story progresses, the characters’ backstories and fears are revealed. Their walls eventually crumble. Chella and Smith become secondary characters whose main role is to stir things up and move the plot along. Quin, the most affected by Rochelle’s disappearance, has had time to ponder the nature of their relationship (and by ponder I really mean torment himself). Even better than Smith becoming less detached in Taking Turns, I loved Quin’s backstory. This now reserved and resentful guy has a history that melted my heart. And Bric, that controlling, self-centered, dominant, is just a gooey marshmallow on the inside. His behavior is quite shocking! He appears to be a changed man. He falls hard for Rochelle’s baby, and takes to the role of daddy like it was his dream come true. Doth the man complain too much about his nieces and nephews?

The layered lies and intrigue kept me guessing until the end. Who is being played? Will anyone win? Will the loser gut me or make me cheer? I was beyond trying to figure out the story line, and I just sweated through the ride. The tension and the promise grow with each paragraph. It has been a long time since I read a book in one sitting; I raced to the finish, and then instantly regretted not having more of the story to read. In the end, I was happy, sad, and eager to get my hands on the next installment of the series.

Review: Taking Turns (Turning #1) by J.A. Huss

 

GIVEAWAY RC

GIVEAWAY

Enter to win a $100 Amazon GC, signed books and a swag pack from J.A. Huss

Click Here to Enter

Tour host: Xpresso Book Tours

Dandelion icon art found at: http://migrahack-dandelion.herokuapp.com

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

