Review: The Last Bookshop in London by Madeline Martin

☆☆➹⁀☆ 4 stars ☆➹⁀☆☆

About the Book:

Inspired by the true World War II history of the only bookshop to survive the Blitz, a sweeping story of wartime loss, romance, and the enduring power of literature, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and The Lilac Girls

London, autumn 1940: the Blitz has only just begun when Grace Bennett arrives in London to find the city she’s spent a lifetime dreaming about now cast in the clouds of war, and all of her plans unraveling at the seams. After accepting a job at a charming bookshop nestled in the heart of the city, a haven for literary-minded locals, she feels like a fish out of water – she’s never been much of a reader, after all.

As the bombs rain down on the city night after night, a devastating air raid leaves London’s literary center in ruins, and the libraries and shops of Paternoster Row are destroyed in a firestorm. But against all odds, one bookshop miraculously survives. Through blackouts and air raids, Grace continues staffing the shop, discovering a newfound comfort in the power of words and storytelling to unite her community in ways she never imagined, a power that triumphs even the darkest nights of war-torn London.

My Thoughts:

In Madeline Martin’s The Last Bookshop in London, small Town girls from Dayton, England find adventure in London.  Grace and Viv escape overbearing guardians when they use their savings to hop a train to London to find work and live with Mrs. Weatherford, a good friend of Grace’s late mother. 

The two friends find work and a loving home, and with the start of The Blitz, they find more adventure than they bargained for.  Like many Londoners, they find an inner strength that keeps them keeping on.  Through a customer, Grace discovers the joy of reading and eventually shares that joy through a storytelling hour at the bookshop she works in.  It unites her neighborhood in ways she could not have anticipated.

The Last Bookshop in London is based on a true story of grit and determination through the darkest nights of the war.  I loved the characters, the discussion of books and bookshops, and most of all, I loved how Ms. Martin portrayed that books can lead to friendship and friends create hope in the darkness.

Buy Links:

Amazon: http://hyperurl.co/lbsilprintamz 

Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-last-bookshop-in-london-madeline-martin/1137772028 

Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/books/the-last-bookshop-in-london-a-novel-of-world-war-ii-original/9781335284808 

IndieBound: http://hyperurl.co/lbsilibprint 

Books-A-Million: http://hyperurl.co/lbsilbam 

Kobo: http://hyperurl.co/lbsilkobo 

AppleBooks: http://hyperurl.co/lbsilib 

Google Play: http://hyperurl.co/lbsilgp 

About the Author: Madeline Martin is a USA TODAY bestselling author of historical romance novels filled with twists and turns, adventure, steamy romance, empowered heroines and the men who are strong enough to love them.

Social Links:

Website: http://www.madelinemartin.com/ 

Facebook: https://facebook.com/madelinemartinauthor 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/madelinemmartin

Instagram: https://instagram.com/madelinemmartin 

© Copyright 2021 Book Junkie Reviews. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: